Street Atoms

I’ve made my bed/And I’m lying in it…

I like the idea of presenting photographs in video form. It’s not something I’ve done that often but as the likelihood of ever publishing a photobook seems pretty remote (right now anyway) this may be the closest I get to thinking about how images go together. A slideshow, sure, but also, a proto-photobook, a digital one with added music.

I avoid your gaze/I turn out of phase…

This is one I put together a while back, street photography shot in Kilkenny and Dublin from mid-to-late 2015. The music is Default by Thom Yorke’s Atoms for Peace. The images connect through gestures and details, echoing across space, or complimenting the words of the song, the mood of it even. Hands rhyme, faces stare back. Implications, hopefully, mount up. That was the idea, anyway. An experiment I should do more of I think.

There was a more recent video but its music (also by Thom Yorke) was neutered by the gangsters lawyers roving Youtube like vandals. So don’t know how long this one will last. Posting it here anyway while it’s still intact.

 

Leave a Reply

